IBRAHIM TANKO MOHAMMED: Chief Justice of Nigeria Resigns


The Chief Justice of Nigeria (CJN), Justice Ibrahim Tanko Mohammad has resigned his post. Africansindispersion.com correspondence in Abuja cited health ground as reason for his decision. According to reports by Vanguard “The development is the latest on the rumblings that followed the altercation between the 14 justices of the Supreme Court and the Chief Justice of Nigeria. 14 serving justices of the Supreme Court of Nigeria, SCN had confronted the Chief Justice of the Federation, CJN, Justice Ibrahim Tanko Muhammad over welfare issues.”

The Justice Ibrahim Tanko Muhammad-led Supreme Court of Nigeria include Justice Kayode Ariwoola, Oyo, South West; Justice Musa Datijo Muhammad, Niger, North Central; Justice Kudirat Kekere-Ekun, Lagos, South West; and Justice Chima Centus Nweze, Enugu, South East.Others are Justice Amina Augie, Kebbi, North West; Justice Uwani Musa Abba-Aji, Borno, North East; Justice John Inyang Okoro, Akwa Ibom, South South; Justice Lawal Garba, Zamfara, North West; Justice Helen Ogunwumiju, Ondo, South West; and Justice Abdu Aboki, Kano, North West. 

Also in the Supreme Court are Justice I.M. Salnwa, Katsina, North West; Justice Adamu Janro, Gombe, North East; Justice Tijani Abubakar, Jigawa, North West; and Justice Emmanuel Agim, Cross River, South South. Following his resignation, Justice Olukayode Ariwoola will be the next acting Chief Justice of Nigeria pending the outcome Senate’s confirmation.

Source Credit: Vanguard


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here